flyingpigapparel

Just another WordPress.com site

3 a Week Update

About two weeks ago, I issued a challenge to the Flying Pig Apparel readers to set different goals and aim for three 30 minute work outs every week.  How is that going for you?  Have you forgotten about it already?  If you’re just joining us, the idea is simple.  A total of 90 minutes of physical activity spread over at least 3 days each week is enough to significantly reduce the risk of many so-called obesity related diseases and problems.  It’s one of 4 simple habits that can even the playing field when it comes to health across all weight categories.

To review, the habits are:

  • Don’t smoke or use tobacco products
  • Drink moderately (2 or less per day for men, 1 or less a day for women)
  • Eat a balanced diet including at least 5 servings of fruit or vegetables a day
  • Be active at least 12 days out of every month (about 3 days a week)

It’s just that simple.  Those 4 easy things take obesity from a death sentence to a body size.  And it’s important to note that the study that this information came from didn’t look at how long a person was active or how intense the work out was, simply that they were active 12 or more days in any given month.  So if what you can do is dance in your chair (or car seat) to the radio, go for it.  My Grandma always gives me an amused look when I start this with her, but sure enough, she’ll wave her arms around and wiggle in her wheel chair if I keep it up.  Maybe she’s just humoring me so I’ll shut up, but it still counts!  🙂  I love to get out and take a walk along a nearby creek that has a fabulous bike path.  I like watching the little ducklings grow up every spring.

So even if you break your 30 minutes up into 3 10-minute walks, it still counts.  Heck, you could do about 13 minutes of activity 7 days a week and still be golden.  Or 15 minutes 6 days a week, and rest on the 7th day.  If all you can manage in your 30 minutes is to walk to the end of the block and back, that’s perfectly fine.  Or maybe just a lap around the house.  All that matters is that you do something.

Here’s my report:

Week 1 (May 13-19) – Two 45-60 minute walks, and the photo shoot for Flying Pig Apparel.

Week 2 (May 20-26) – I struggled this week because it turned cold, wet and windy on me and I was uninspired to go for a walk.  So I ran through my stretching routine and yoga in the living room.

Week 3 (May 27-June 2) – One hour and a half hike on Memorial day (with the hottie from the range, woohoo!), plus two more 45-60 minute walks on my favorite creek side path.

My walks are all a lot longer than the amount of time set for the challenge.  I do that for a couple of reasons.  First off, I’m on my feet walking 5-9 hours a day for my job, so I’m used to putting in several miles a day.  Secondly, the path I walk on has a good turning around point at about mile 1.5, so I walk a total of just under 3 miles in my hour.  And last but not least, I don’t pressure myself to go any set speed, I just walk at a comfortable pace for me.

3 Comments

  1. catrandom

    Being fat is not a “death sentence.” Whether one follows these (perfectly fine) guidlines or not.

    • We agree. We’d like to encourage people to live the healthiest possible life, but ultimately it’s their choice. And honestly, if you want to wear Flying Pig Apparel to lounge around the house in, that’s cool too. It’s pretty comfy stuff. 🙂
      ~RR

    • Exactly. In the US (Pop. 310 Million), where the obesity prevalence is at 35.7% with an estimated 100,000 deaths per year (they tried 400,000 but the methodology was proven borked) that can be attributed to obesity, that’s a fatality incidence of 90.36 deaths/100,000/year.

      Now, let’s compare that to some other fatality incidences:

      Low-dose Aspirin: 10.4/100,000/year
      Living in Buffalo (homicide and non-negligent manslaughter): 20.7/100,000/year
      Being a Member of the Labour force: 41.22 (157,695,000 workers, 65,000 job-related deaths per year)
      Alcohol use (all drinkers): Approx. 150/100,000/year
      Tobacco use (all smokers): Approx. 650/100,000/year

      I’m gonna continue to enjoy alcohol, take aspirin when I have a headache, and live and work in whatever city I like, and on an actuarial basis, live longer than my skinny roommate who smokes a half-pack a day.

      Would I like to have a BMI in the mid-20’s? Sure. Am I going to worry about my weight being the death of me? Probably not.

Leave a Reply

